Transition Board – Shetland Merger Project

Committee	Transition Poard Shotland Margar Project
Committee	Transition Board – Shetland Merger Project
Subject	Search and Nominations Committee recommendations for appointments
Action requested	 ☐ For information only ☐ For discussion ☐ For recommendation ☒ For approval
Brief summary of the paper	Following the appointment of Chairs to Sub-committees, membership of committees has been developed. The Search and nominations sub-committee presented recommendations to the Transition Board from its meeting on 9th December which were approved. These recommendations have been updated to reflect the Search and Nominations Committee held on 31st March 2021 and discussion with newly appointed Directors.
Resource implications	No
[if yes, please provide detail]	Click here to enter text.
Risk implications	Yes
[if yes, please provide detail]	An effective Board working structure needs to be in place to support the activities of the developing new college.
Date paper prepared	09-Dec-20
Date of committee meeting	16-Dec-20
Author	Jane Lewis
Equality and diversity	No
Status	Non-confidential
Freedom of Information Can this paper be included in 'open' business?*	Yes
Chatan fallowing the marking	Approved
Status following the meeting	Updated and presented here for April Transition Board

Following the appointment of Sub-Committee Chairs, further Board members have been reviewed and for appointment to sub-committees. The memberships below are recommended for approval by the Transition Board. All four sub-committees are included below for completeness and further appointments will need to be made following further appointments to the Board.

The Board is invited to approve the composition of sub-committees as indicated below, those in bold reflect recent updating.

Finance and General Purposes Sub-committee:

Not less than five Board Members, including the Chair and Principal who are members ex officio.

Chair	Graeme Howell
Board members	Flo Jansen, Student Director George Wallington, Staff Director Rory Gillies, Director
Ex Officio	Chair – Davie Sandison Principal Designate – Jane Lewis
Staff in attendance	Elaine Laurenson/Ruth Christie Glen Gilfillan, Isobel Johnson

Learning and Teaching and Research committee

Not less than five Board Members, including the Principal, the Teaching Staff Representative and the Student Representatives.

Chair	Karen Hall
Board members	Cally Mair, Student Representative
	Flo Jansen, Student Representative
	Beth Mouat, Staff Director
	John Goodlad, Director
	Lauren Doughton, Director
	Maria Bell, Director
	Principal Designate – Jane Lewis
Ex Officio	Board Secretary - TBC
Staff in attendance	Susan Berry, Willie Shannon, Saro Saravanan

Chair of HR and Remuneration:

Not less than five Board Members including the Chair of the Board of Management as well as the Chairs of the Audit Committee, the Finance & General Purpose Committee and the Learning, Teaching & Research Committee.

The Principal may attend this meeting by invitation, but must withdraw when his/her own salary is being discussed.

Board Members who are employed at the College may not Chair the Committee.

Chair pro tem	Davie Sandison
Board members	Chair of the Board of Management – Davie Sandison
	The Chairs of the following Committees:
	Audit Committee – Betty Fullerton Finance & General Purposes Committee – Graeme Howell
	Learning ,Teaching and Research Committee – Karen Hall
	Andrew Anderson, Staff Director
	Grant Cumming, Director
Ex Officio	Principal – by invitation only
Staff in attendance	Board Secretary

Audit Committee

Not less than five Board Members. At least one member of the Committee should have recent and relevant experience in finance, accounting or auditing.

Board members not eligible for appointment are the Chair of the Board, the Principal, members elected by the teaching and non-teaching staff of the college and the persons appointed by the Students Association.

No member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee shall also be a member of the Audit Committee. The Committee may if it considers it necessary or desirable, co-opt members with particular expertise.

Membership of the Committee should satisfy the requirements of the SFC Code of Audit Practice, and / or other appropriate guidance, as may be directed by the Board of Management.

Chair	Betty Fullerton
Board members	Karen Hall
	Lauren Doughton
Ex Officio	Board Secretary – TBC
	Internal Auditor – TBC
	Corporate / Operations - TBC External Auditor
	Representative (as required / at least once a
	year) – TBC